The Update

Keeping you constant on all things gaming.

Left 4 Dead Demo Review

Posted by haunt506e on November 11, 2008

Left 4 Dead, Demo Review

If you haven’t downloaded the Left 4 Dead demo yet, this is your final warning.  Seriously.  The game will be coming out for the PS3, Xbox 360, and the PC in just a matter of days, and if the demo is any clue as to what the rest of the game is like, I’ll be buying this one for sure (not sure about when though).  The demo gives you two segments of the game to play in, meaning two safe houses that your characters have to make their way to, fighting against hordes of zombies along the way.

The demo runs very smoothly, and is extremely entertaining.  While it only takes about 20 minutes to complete the two provided segments, that time is basically one big adrenaline rush, especially on the first run through.  As I’ve said before, the game works by pitting a group of 4 survivors (hence the name) against huge groups of blood thirsty zombies.  You pick up ammo and different weapons along the way, in addition to med kits, pain pills, and either molotov cocktails or pipe bombs.  Once on the way, you’re confronted, in addition to the ravenous groups of mindless horde zombies, by several special zombies.  These include: The Hunter, a quick agile hunter that pins down group members and slashes the hell out of them; The Smoker, a zombie that will use its huge tongue to strangle allies; The Boomer, a fat zombie that will explode when shot and puke on you when still alive, not only blinding you but also attracting the horde to your bile covered body; The Tank, a giant badass that will pummel you to a bloody pulp if you don’t work as a team to take him down quick; and finally, The Witch, who will pretty much kill you instantly if you piss her off.

While this is all fun and good in the first play through, what has Valve added in to boost up the replay value?  Well, not only does the game give you the option to play online scenarios where players control the zombies as well as the characters, the game’s AI Zombie Controller (this is what is used during the campaign mode) is programmed to randomly spawn zombies in different areas, at different times.  You may clear through a building quite easily one game, but the next you get swarmed in that very same building.  The AI Controller sets up different ambushes in different areas, and, at least with my experience of the game, it seems to do a great job of keeping the game play varied.

So if you’re looking for another game to pass away the time this holiday season, I strongly (strongly) recommend checking out Left 4 Dead.  It comes out November 18th in the United States and November 21st in Europe, I know I’ll be getting it soon after the release, and look forward to playing it with my buds online.

One Response to “Left 4 Dead Demo Review”

  1. Predator1357 said

    I have to say this is a amazing game. I was actually playing the demo with Haunt. We had just cleared a floor when came upon this hole in the ground. Everyone jumped in and I stayed up to provide covering fire, when this boomer came along and puked at me. Since I was blinded, I couldnt see the smoker tongue coming thru a hole in the wall behind me. It grabbed me and pulled me to the ground and strangled me. By this time the zombies realized where I was. They climbed up the wall and started beating me while I was held to the ground by the smoker. You gotta stay close to your allies in this game or the zombies will get you alone and beat the crap outa you. It was really intense, I am definately getting this game.

Leave a Reply

 
